Skill Levels

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Learning to Crochet and other Crochet topics.

Skill Levels

Crochet patterns often come with some indication of the crochet skill level you should have to be able to tackle the project. Don't feel bound by these statements, just take them to be guidelines for helping you assess what's involved in creating the item and if it's a pattern that you want to try:

Beginner: this is a pattern that is intended for first-time crocheters, utilizes basic stitches, and involves minimal shaping.

Easy: this is a pattern that uses basic stitches, simple repetitive stitch patterns and/or color changes, and simple shaping and finishing.

Intermediate: this is a pattern that uses a variety of crochet stitches in varying patterns and has mid-level shaping and finishing.

Advanced or Experienced: this is a pattern that uses advanced crochet techniques and stitches in intricate patterns and involves detailed shaping and finishing.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Crochet Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Phyllis Serbes